2021 IEEE International Conference on Intelligence and Safety for Robotics


IEEE International Conference on Intelligence and Safety for Robotics - IEEE ISR2021

Online Conference

March 4-6, 2021, Nagoya, Japan,

IEEE International Conference on Intelligence and Safety for Robotics - IEEE ISR2021

Humans and Robots coexist with each other in various domains. Robots assist humans in both public and private spaces for transportation and servant purposes where the environments including humans need to be recognized again for autonomous and safe operations. Workers perform collaborative operations with industrial robots in factories where autonomy are major concerns for manpower saving under workers’ safety. These examples show that intelligence and safety are indispensable for human – robot coexistence and they need to be elaborately integrated. The IEEE ISR2021 brings together an international community of experts to discuss a way forward in robotics for the future of safety and security with intelligence by provisions of new research results and perspectives of future developments as well as achievements of social implementation.


  • Component technology of sensing and control for robot safety
  • Intelligent systems of human-robot coexistence and cooperation
  • Safety and productivity compatibility through robotics
  • Contact/Non-contact safety criteria on human-robot coexistence
  • Safety of mobile robots in such fields as agriculture, construction
  • Robot learning and teaching with machine intelligence
  • Safety of wearable robots/ physical assistant robotic devices
  • Interaction/human-in-loop control of assistive robots
  • Component technology of sensing and control for robot safety
  • Robot vision and environment/human recognition for autonomous robots
  • Navigation and planning for autonomous motion of robots
  • Human motion sensing, understanding and their intention inference/estimation
  • Verbal/Non-verbal communication with humans through intelligence
  • Safe human-robot collaboration with IoT and Artificial Intelligence
  • Security and “Anshin” for autonomous systems with IT and 5G
  • Multi-agent coordination for robot safety
  • Safety standards for intelligent robots and autonomous systems
  • Legal issues and ethics in robotics

Important Dates

Paper Submission Deadline: October 17, 2020

Notification of Acceptance: January 4, 2021

Final Submission Deadline: February 4, 2021

Early Registration Deadline: February 5, 2021

Call For Paper

Welcome to our Conference


Paper submission

Papers must be submitted in PDF format prepared strictly following the IEEE PDF requirements. The number of pages shall be two to four (2~4). The Papers will be archived in the IEEE Xplore.

Read More Info

To submit your paper please click here


Honorary Chair

  • Toshio Fukuda, (Meijo University, Japan / Beijing University of Technology, China)

General Chair

  • Yoji Yamada, (Nagoya University, Japan)

General Co-Chair

  • Zhidong Wang, (Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan)

Advisory Council Chairs

  • Tatsuo Arai, (University of Electro-Communications, Japan / Beijing University of Technology, China)
  • Anibal De Almeida, (University of Coimbra, Portugal)

Program Chairs

  • Yoshihiro Nakabo, (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan)

Program Co-Chairs

  • Yasumichi Aiyama, (University of Tsukuba, Japan)
  • Jun Miura, (Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan)

Organized Session Chair

  • Tetsuya Kimura, (Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan)
  • Nobutaka Shimada, (Ritsumeikan University, Japan)

Awards Chair

  • Yasuhisa Hirata, (Tohoku University, Japan)

Awards Co-Chair

  • Seonghee Jeong, (Osaka Electro-Communication University, Japan)

Publications Chair

  • Ken-ichi Ohara, (Meijo University, Japan)

Publications Co-Chair

  • Yasuhiro Akiyama, (Nagoya University, Japan)

Conference Administration Chair

  • Keiko Homma, (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan)

Conference Administration Co-Chair

  • Hisataka Maruyama, (Nagoya University, Japan)

Publicity Chair

  • Shogo Okamoto, (Nagoya University, Japan)

Finance Chairs

  • Tatsuo Fujikawa, (Nagoya University, Japan)

International Committee Members

  • Norbert Elkmann, (Fraunhofer IFF, Germany)
  • Saeed Abdolshah, (Technical University of Munich, Germany)
  • Jeremy Marvel, (National Institute of Standard Technology, USA)
  • Sung-Soo Rhim, (Kyung Hee University, South Korea)
  • Sun Beiqing, (Shengyang Institute of Technology, China)
  • Wang Shuoyu, (Kochi Institute of Tech, Japan)


  • Nader Rajaei, (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • Shiori Morishima, (Nagoya University, Japan)



Content will be updated -----

Main Conference

Content will be updated -----


Content will be updated